



154 West 93rd Street New York, New York 10025 - Room 204 Tel (212) 678-2782 Fax (212) 678-2804 Email: CEC3@schools.nyc.gov

 Joseph A. Fiordaliso
 Kimberly Watkins
 Zoe G. Foundotos
 Kristen Berger
 Lucas Liu

 President
 First Vice President
 Second Vice President
 Secretary
 Treasurer

Council Members: Manuel Casanova Noah Gotbaum Pradnya Joshi Daniel Katz
Dennis Morgan Vincent Orgera, Declan Saint-Onge, Student Member

**Ilene Altschul**District 3 Community Superintendent

## DISTRICT 3 COMMUNITY EDUCATION COUNCIL Business & Special Calendar Meeting SPECIAL CALENDAR MINUTES

Wed. Jan. 4, 2017 6:30 PM Joan of Arc Auditorium 154 W. 93rd Street Special Calendar Meeting

To consider a resolution expressing concerns regarding the presumptive nominee for Secretary of the United States Department of Education

(Approved at the March 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2017 Joint Calendar Meeting by all Council members present)

- ❖ Meeting Called To Order 8:01 P.M
- ❖ Roll Call Roll Call:

Present: Manuel Casanova, Joe Fiordaliso, Noah Gotbaum, PJ Joshi, Daniel Katz, Lucas

Liu, Vincent Orgera, Kim Watkins (8). Declan Saint-Onge, student member

Excused Absence: Kristen Berger, Zoe Foundotos, Dennis Morgan

DOE Staff: Ilene Altschul, District 3 Superintendent; D.J Sheppard, District 3 Family

Leadership Coordinator

- Resolution expressing concerns regarding the presumptive nominee for Secretary of the United States Department of Education (on file)
  - 1. The Resolution is read into the record

## Public Comment

- Mark Diller, CB7: Supports the resolution. Corrects CEC3 that Ms. DeVos is not the presumptive nominee, she is the nominee. Ms. DeVos is a strong believer of prayer in schools. It should not be revisited. He recommends circulating the resolution amongh other CECs.
  - ✓ Council amends the resolution by removal of "presumptive"
  - ✓ Council will circulate the resolution to all CECs.

## ❖ Roll Call Vote

- Resolution expressing concerns regarding the nominee for Secretary of the United States Department of State
  - a. The Roll Call Vote is called
  - b. The Resolution is passed by a majority vote of Council Members present

YES (7) M Casanova, J Fiordaliso, N Gotbaum, D Katz, L Liu, V Orgera,

K Watkins

ABSTAIN (1) PJ Joshi

❖ Adjournment - 8:15 P.M.