About Us

Who We Are

CEC3 is one of the 32 Community Education Councils (CECs) in New York City. CEC3 represents Community School District 3 which includes public elementary and middle schools on the Upper West Side from W. 61st St. to 123rd St. in Harlem. CEC 3 holds monthly meetings, and contributes to shaping educational policy in District 3.

CEC3's responsibilities are established by state law and implemented through regulations of the Chancellor. These responsibilities include: approving school zoning lines, holding hearings on the capital plan, evaluating community superintendents, and providing input on other important policy issues.

Community Education Council members are elected for two-year terms by the parents of schools in their district. Each CEC has 12 members, including nine parents elected by the parents in the districts' schools and two members appointed by the Borough President. The student voice is also represented with a student selected by the Community Superintendent.

Meet The Council

Lucas Liu - President

(lliu@cec3.org)

Dennis Morgan - First VP

(dmorgan@cec3.org)

Helen Qiu - Second VP & IEP Member

(helen@cec3.org)

Naveed Hasan - Treasurer

(nhasan@cec3.org)

Ursila Jung - Recording Secretary

(ursila@cec3.org)

Jeanie Ahn

(jeanie@cec3.org)

Sharon Collins, ELL Member

(scollins@cec3.org)

Soumountha Keophilavong, MBP Appointee

(soumountha@cec3.org)

Victor Lin

(victor@cec3.org)

Deirdre Garrett Scott, MBP Appointee

(deirdregscott@gmail.com)


Vacant Member seat


Mission Statement

Community Education Council 3 (CEC3) of New York City believes that every child is entitled to a high quality education, a safe and healthy school environment, and equal educational opportunities. The mission of CEC3 is to promote and support the educational needs of District 3 elementary and middle school students by representing and advocating for District 3 families to the NYC Department of Education.

Community School District 3 Team (CSD3)

Christine Loughlin, Superintendent

Cynthia Dickman, Deputy Superintendent

Tracy McClaire, Family Liaison Coordinator

Matthew Angell

Russell Gonzales

Violet Guillet, Secretary to the Superintendent

CSD3 Elementary & Middle Schools & CEC3 School Liaisons

CSD3 Directory September 2021 - CEC3 Liaisons.pdf